We sussed out Marina Souq

This was my first time going to Marina Souq (which I initially thought was in the Marina area – go figure!). Adam was at school and Tarek at work so the in-laws, Alex and I decided we would go visit the popular day market. To be honest, I was just happy to go somewhere that didn’t involve another mall (thank you Autumn).

marina-event
Direction map  and contact details at the end of the post

While the weather has been slightly more humane, I was grateful that the market was underneath a white air-conditioned tent. As the name suggests, the Marina Souq is situated right along the banks of the water so you can still get views of the passing fishing boats through the transparent tent windows as you browse the different stalls.

We walked in at around 11am and it was packed to the brim with a distinctive buzz of market chatter. We shuffled our way around the well stocked tables and shelves (while my father in-law felt slightly uncomfortable amongst all the women – bless), eyeing out some of the unique and high quality products on offer.

I unfortunately did not get a chance to snap a photograph of every table but you can get a pretty good idea of what to expect when visiting the monthly market from those featured below.

dscn0457
Birds n’ Bees

These are handmade twine balls that are strung together on fairy lights. You can customise the colours however you wish – the options are endless. Just like the adult version of pick n’ mix candy!

dscn0456
Birds n’ Bees

If only Alex took to a pacifier. When you have a boy and still can’t play dress up…sigh!

 

dscn0454
Twins

Hold the press, there is a sandal heaven!

dscn0453
Twins

I’m a little bit country. And I’m a little bit rock ‘n roll.

dscn0447
KeenBags

I absolutely love the Arabian inspired material and colours. These bags are also completely waterproof – a must for beach days.

dscn0450

dscn0452
KeenBags

They also make gorgeous kaftans and throw-overs. Super versatile for Dubai weather.

 

dscn0443
By Camilla Hind

Is this not the cutest thing you’ve ever seen? And not just because my name is Kat…

dscn0444dscn0445

dscn0446
By Camilla Hind

You can also order personalised artwork which makes a stunning gift (or spoil for yourself). Swoon.

dscn0437
Heidesign

Some people are blessed with green fingers. I, on the other hand, can kill a cactus in a week. I am completely in love with this herb planter though.

dscn0438dscn0440

dscn0439
Heidesign

I have a feeling this swear jar would come in handy in our household.

(cough, cough, husband!)

dscn0422

dscn0423
Ann-Sofie’s Jewelry

There’s something about all these hues that are just so satisfying.

dscn0441

dscn0442
Abode

I have such a soft spot for African art and the workmanship in these pieces left me in awe. I just wish my purse appreciated my taste as much as I do!

dscn0431
RAW

RAW bags are another brand that prides itself in sourcing local materials and production. Photos don’t do these bags justice, the quality is superb and designs are one of a kind.

dscn0433dscn0432

dscn0435
RAW

If you have a certain design or colour pallete in mind that is not available, RAW can customise your own unique bag. Now that’s pretty snazzy I’d say.

dscn0424

dscn0427
Lady Mauve

Everybody who knows me will tell you that I am not a big accessory person but if I was, I could see myself in statement pieces like these!

dscn0398

dscn0397
AYAM Africa

And these! Dreamy African inspiration makes my heart happy.

dscn0401

dscn0404
2Birds

This stall was so busy with ladies trying on dresses and shirts, that I could only snap a couple of pics from the outside. With these bright colours and whimsical designs, it’s easy to see why!

dscn0394

dscn0395
727 Sailbags Middle East

Now here’s something I bet you’ve never seen. Bags, chairs and jackets made from the same material that boats use for their sails! How unique is that?

dscn0409

dscn0410
Koldpress Juice Kompany

All that shopping makes you work up quite the appetite. Luckily, there are health conscious options available to fill the gap.

dscn0408dscn0407

dscn0406
The Salad Jar

It’s a salad in a jar, no more excuses for take-away junk. And they deliver too!

You have to try D’s salad. Trust me on this one, it’s D-lish!

dscn0416
Baker & Spice

But of course, if you are big on carbs you will not be disappointed either. Pass the butter!

dscn0414dscn0415

dscn0417
Baker & Spice

A sweet end to a sweet day!

Follow Marina Souq on Facebook to stay up to date with market dates and details: https://www.facebook.com/marinasouq

map

 

Leave a Reply

