Meet the Mompreneur: Kelly from Bouncing Buddha Dubai

Kelly Louise George hails from England and is mom to 18 month old Lolita Star.
Kelly started her businesses Bouncing Buddha Dubai in October 2015 and Flow Middle East October of this year.

img_3402

How long have you been in the UAE and what brought you here?

I came to Dubai in the beginning of 2008 to work for Emirates Airline as a flight attendant. I’d never been to Dubai before and as a professional dancer it was a new career for me but I loved it and nearly 9 years on I am still here!

What are your favourite family friendly activities to do in the UAE?

My husband is a keen karter so our weekends can be spent at racing tracks. It’s a great family sport and we have made a lot of friends through him getting involved in the championships. We also like beach and pool days together and lunches and soft plays with friends in the summer months to escape the heat.

img_7904
What do you miss most about home?

I like walks in the English countryside and pub lunches with the family! I miss Asda and Tescos. I miss sensible drivers too!

Tell us a bit about your business and why you started it.

I fell pregnant with Lolita and took maternity leave but I didn’t return to flying as it’s not the lifestyle I wanted to maintain once I had a child. I wanted to still work but wasn’t sure what I was going to do, then whilst breastfeeding I realised that there was a gap in the market for clothes which would act as a cover to feed with. Yes, the Apron was available but I never felt confident enough to use it in public so I created a range of clothing which you can feed in and I wanted to share it with mummies in the UAE to give them the confidence to feed wherever they may be!

I have also recently imported the best wall mounted smoke detector on the market for baby/child bedrooms. I am hoping in the next few months to raise awareness here in the UAE of the importance of installing them in your homes.

img_5172
If you could give one piece if advice to new/ expecting moms, what would it be?

Reach out to people, if you’re going through a tough time then every other mama has also been through it, you won’t be alone! Always ask questions, read lots of books and trust your instincts….Mama knows best!

fullsizerender-1

Follow Kelly on Facebook and Instagram:

@bouncing_buddha 

https://m.facebook.com/BouncingBuddhaDubai/

https://m.facebook.com/flowmiddleeast/

Leave a Reply

